Pompeii & It Breaks My Heart

I have to point out this new movie that comes out this month. For a couple of years now, I heard rumors it was in the works. I figured it was just that, a rumor. I didn’t see any during-the-filming shots of it at all. I can’t help but feel super annoyed and angry. Well, for starters one of the actors in Pompeii comes from the HBO show Game of Thrones. Another show, that I wanted to make since I was reading the books in high school and on through the military. I’ve had this idea for a movie for a long time. Ever since I was a little girl. I was totally fascinated with the Titanic and always thought of doing a movie for that, but hey, James Cameron beat me to it. I was in high school during the time when Titanic came out. Then I was thinking, why not Pompeii. Like I’ve said before, I’m a history buff. While I was in the Navy, I started to read more on the events that happened at that time. I knew I wanted it to be a romance. I was getting more into the craft of the story, while I was in a budding relationship with my ex husband. Later, after my son was born, I used to read books about Pompeii to a curious big eyed baby. While I was in college, I doodled ideas about it a lot. My son really got into it also when he was a little bit older. Watching documentaries with me and drawing a mountain as often as he could. As well as, doodling on my sketches.

Even though, it’s a painful thing that yet another idea beat me to the punch line, I’m trying to think of it in a more positive light. I need to let it go. Let the past go. I’m pretty sure my version of Pompeii is better than whatever they put together. I have other more important ideas to dream up. I’m stepping out of the kiddie pool. I will acknowledge that its been done, accept I have good ideas, and keep improving. It’ll happen. This is just a sign that it will. Keep an eye out.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6UqaCUAGCOk                                Pompeii doodles

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

